I GOT PULLED OVER!

cit16_SRX_POLICE_CARS

On Wednesday (June 7, 2017), I got pulled over by the police. No, I wasn’t speeding or driving under the influence, but my vehicle was past the inspection date. So let’s get started.

I was driving through my little town and out into the countryside. Then I noticed that a police car was following me and had its lights flashing. I thought they probably just want to pass me. I pulled the car over, but they didn’t pass me. I looked in my rearview mirror and both policemen were exiting their vehicle. He told me what was wrong and asked for all my documents. I was completely clueless what my vehicle registration looked like and literally gave him a wad of papers. Luckily, one paper was the registration. He walked back to his car. I waited. And waited. And waited, it seemed like forever had passed. Then he told me to sign something saying that I had a citation and that it was mandatory that I complete it. If I didn’t there could be some serious consequences. I asked a few questions then I was on my way back home.

All I wanted to do was drive to my work to ask if I could work there again this summer. I wasn’t able to do it earlier since I had been out of the country for the last four months. I drove straight home and told my mother. We had figured out that the registration process changed last December and wasn’t aware of the change.

I was honestly so scared and there was a split second where I wanted to cry. WHY ME? I am the youngest driver in my family (mother, father and me) and “I” got pulled over. I am so thankful that he was patient with me and explained everything. I honestly had no clue what to do and was winging it the whole time. They teach you some etiquette things in school, but there was a huge gray area of information that I had no clue on.

Today was not a good day at all. It started out rotten and continued to get worse.

Leave a Reply

