It Ain’t Me by Kygo (feat. Selena Gomez)

maxresdefault

It Ain’t Me by Kygo (feat. Selena Gomez) is such a powerful song. In one aspect this song about a friend that I lost and in another aspect, it is about my brother who is very troubled. Whenever I listen to this song, I get very emotional, because both of these scenarios are very difficult situations for me to think about.

I had a dream

We were sipping whiskey neat

Highest floor, the Bowery

And I was high enough

Somewhere along the lines

We stopped seeing eye to eye

You were staying out all night

And I had enough

My friend and I stopped seeing eye to eye at the end of senior year. I tried to keep our friendship together because I wanted her to still be my friend. She is amazing and she made me stronger, who could stand to lose someone like this? I was finished with her excuses, lies and the feeling that I wasn’t good enough to be her friend.

No, I don’t wanna know

Where you been or where you’re going

But I know I won’t be home

And you’ll be on your own

Who’s gonna walk you through the dark side of the morning?

Who’s gonna rock you when the sun won’t let you sleep?

Who’s waking up to drive you home when you’re drunk and all alone?

Who’s gonna walk you through the dark side of the morning?

It ain’t me

My younger brother has some mental problems and is very difficult to be around. Some days I feel like I just want to leave and forget about him completely. I really don’t care where he is headed, but all I know I won’t be there to deal will all the problems. He will have to figure out to take care of himself without the help from my mother and me.

I had a dream

We were back to seventeen

Summer nights and The Libertines

Never growing up

I’ll take with me

The polaroids and the memories

But you know I’m gonna leave

Behind the worst of us

After my friend and I split, I had nights where I would dream about what our friendship used to be. I will keep all the pictures of us and the memories that we have made together, but I will leave all the worst of us behind. I will let those gather dust and be forgotten forever.

It Ain’t Me (Audio)

 

It Ain’t Me Music Video

Leave a Reply

