Back Home!!!

Airplane

I am home from four months of traveling. I am tired and jet-lagged, but that is beside the point. I am from a small town of 6,000 people to living in a city with about three million people. The big city life definitely challenged me since I am a relatively shy person.

Spending four months away from everything is very challenging, but it builds you into a better person. I have learned so much about myself. I am coming home changed. I am not the same person who left four months ago.

The girl months ago had high anxiety and at one point could never leave the house. She left with the little courage she had to explore the world. It took everything she had, but she conquered almost every obstacle that came her way.

I am returning with my anxiety more controlled and more fearless. I am coming back with different ideas that I want to achieve and become. I am gearing towards becoming a minimalist and vegetarian.

I believe that traveling makes you humble and I highly suggest that someone travel to a place they’ve never been before. Every time I return home to my home country, I realize how lucky I am. I have food to eat, clean water and a place to sleep. I have everything I need and more. This trip as taught me so much…. More than I could ever explain in words.

I want to become a minimalist because for the past four months I have lived out of one suitcase. We had a very simple living space. I have realized that all the things I have collected over the years really have no use to me at all. For the four months I have been away, they have been collecting dust and I haven’t thought about them once.

I want to become a vegetarian (and later down the road vegan) because we have eaten simple food without all the preservatives and added sugars. I feel better than before and I want to even better.

The most important lesson I learned was that I rather collect memories and experience than items that will just create dust.

Leave a Reply

