Day 21: What three lessons do you want your children to learn from you

6359574513415571521976699682_lessons-to-learn_t_nt

“Strength lies in differences not in similarities” – Stephen R. Covey

Your differences are the qualities that make you unique and what will set you apart from the rest of the world.

I was one of the few Asian families in my small hometown. While I was in school, I was frequently made fun of and laughed at. I reached the point where I just wanted to be like the other girls in my grade. As I grew older, I realized that my differences were the very qualities that would help me reach my dreams.

“If you can’t stop thinking about it, don’t stop working for it.” – Unknown

I want my children to learn to follow their dreams, no matter how crazy they are. I will support them no matter what they decide they pursue. You don’t have to take the path that everyone follows to achieve greatness. Future children, please follow your crazy, wild dreams.

I should be in college right now studying for finals but I am not. Instead, I’m half way across the world exploring a city I never thought I would visit in a million years. My dreams and aspirations are far-fetched and wild but that won’t stop me from following them.

I want to teach my children how important traveling is. There is no better lesson than taking your children to another country. They will have the opportunity to see the world in a different perspective. They will learn that our culture isn’t the only culture out there. Traveling I believe makes your more of a humble person.

One thought on “Day 21: What three lessons do you want your children to learn from you

Leave a Reply

