Castle On The Hill by Ed Sheeran

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 5.01.34 PM
Photo Credit: Ed Sheeran’s YouTube Channel

Happy Monday everyone! Hope everyone had a Happy Easter for those who celebrate it. Today’s song is Castle On The Hill by Ed Sheeran. This song reminisces of your hometown or the place you grew up in. Let’s get into the lyrics.

When I was six years old I broke my leg

I was running from my brother and his friends

And tasted the sweet perfume of the mountain grass as I rolled down

I have never broken any bones so I can’t relate to that but I vividly remember running from my three siblings. I can remember all the grass stains that were on our clothes from rolling in the grass and down grassy hills. For me, it is a bittersweet moment since currently, I don’t get along with my younger siblings.

I was younger then

Take me back to when

I found my heart and broke it here

I definitely discovered how I was in my small hometown and had my heart broken several times (not by guys since I’ve never had a boyfriend).

Made friends and lost them through the years

Like I’ve said in my last two Musical Monday posts, I’ve made friends and lost them throughout my life, whether it be falling out of just growing apart. But that is not to say that I’ve more along the way, which I definitely have.

And I’ve not seen the roaring fields in so long

I know I’ve grown

I can’t wait to go home

My small hometown is a mostly rural area so there is lots of rolling fields and hills. Looking back, I realize how much I’ve grown and how much I’ve changed. Even though I will never consider my hometown my future it definitely contains memories that I will cherish forever.

I’m on my way

Driving at 90 down those country lanes

Singing to “Tiny Dancer”

I love driving down the country lanes with the music on full blast. I also love singing while the windows are down and feeling the wind through my hair. Another thing to note is that I’ve never driven over 70 mph and that was the speed limit on one of our highways.

We watched the sunset over the castle on the hill

Over the castle on the hill

Over the castle on the hill

In my small hometown, we don’t have any castles so I can’t relate to that but I love watching the sunset over the lake.

One friend left to sell clothes

One works down by the coast

One had two kids but lives alone

One’s brother overdosed

One’s already on his second wife

One’s just barely getting by

But these people raised me

And I can’t wait to go home

I’ve watched all my closest friends move away from our small hometown and into the great big world. It is really run to talk to them after months of passed to see where they are and what they are doing now. Honestly, I’m so excited for everyone in my graduating class.

And I’m on my way

I still remember these old country lanes

When we did not know the answers

Even after all the time away from my hometown I still remember all the roads and shortcuts. Back then, everything seemed so simple and easy looking at it now. All my major problems now I can’t even remember them.

 

Castle On The Hill Lyric Video

 

Castle On The Hill Music Video

Leave a Reply

