Green Light by Lorde

Traffic Light Small

I have been constantly listening to Green Light by Lorde. I have never been in a relationship with a guy so I can’t relate to Lorde’s break up but I can from a friendship standpoint.

Background information: I will call my friend Alison (name changed for privacy). I was good friends with Alison for about eight years, we did everything together. We were those friends who would finish each other sentence. At the end of senior year of high school came and we both moved on, without each other following. She got into a long term relationship and I became friends with other people. We associated with other groups of people, her with Chorus while I associated with band and science groups. Now that you know a little bit about our friendship I will get right into the lyrics.

But I hear sounds in my mind

Brand new sounds in my mind

New beginnings are around the corner since we are ending high school and starting college (in college as I’m writing this). College will lead to new friends and brand new experiences.

But, honey, I’ll be seein’ you ‘ever I go

But, honey, I’ll be seein’ you down every road

Everywhere I go, I am reminded of her. That is where we first met. We had a party at that place. There was where we made an inside joke that no one else would know. Every little thing I saw somehow related back to her.

I’m waiting for it, that green light, I want it

Though she has since moved on, I am still waiting to be liberated. I’m still waiting for that green light. I want to move on so badly but can’t. I am just getting to the point where I can finally say that I have a green light. I am finally over our friendship and can move on to fulfill my dreams.

Green Light Music Video

Please let me know in the comments if you can relate to any of the lyrics from Green Light by Lorde.

Leave a Reply

