We Don’t Talk Anymore by Charlie Puth (feat. Selena Gomez)

 

IMG_3693 copy

As you may know, music is so inspiring and tells stories that us, as listeners, can relate to. Though some songs may be catchy and constantly on repeat while others relate to us so perfectly. So every Monday, I will list a song that I have been listening to and I will tell how that song relates to me personally.

This week the song I’ve constantly been listening to is We Don’t Talk Anymore by Charlie Puth (feat. Selena Gomez). Though this song is about someone who can’t move on from their boyfriend/girlfriend for me it means lost a friendship.

At the start of middle school, I met someone who I became good friends with and throughout middle school we did everything together, though as time went on we grew apart. Both of us wanted different things so eventually, we split. I’m not going to lie here but the split wasn’t exactly mutual and this individual caused me a lot of pain. As time went on I still thought about her but I felt like she never thought about me. I spent months wanting our friendship back though she moved on. She had college and her boyfriend. I’ll pick out some lines that hit me hard while listening to this beautiful song.

We don’t talk anymore

We don’t talk anymore

We don’t talk anymore

Like we used to do

We would talk all the time. I was a relatively shy person but she made me fearless, she taught me to be brave regardless of what everyone else thought of me. Now I haven’t heard from her since last November.

Cause even after all this time

I still wonder

Why I can’t move on

Just the way you did so easily

She moved on so easily while every day I waited for her to text or call me. I know now that she was meant to come to into my life and teach me lessons and then leave. She definitely made me a better person.

There must be a good reason that you’re gone

Every now and then I think you might want me to

Come show up at your door

But I’m just too afraid that I’ll be wrong

I know she left because our dreams were in very different directions and in order for us to both grow, we need to split. Every once and a while I want to call her up and see how she is doing but I’m too afraid that she won’t want to talk to me.

 

We Don’t Talk Anymore Music Video

 

We Don’t Talk Anymore (Live Performance)

Leave a Reply

